New Parenting Rule: Misbehave, you’ll loose a book

I’ve found a new parenting rule that works and is pain free for me. With Caleigh, I’ve tried pretty much every rule or discipline that has been recommended by other parents.  Yes, I have tried time outs. I’ve tried spankings. Rewards. Threats. Etc. I’ve finally found something that works with her…at least for now. I might have to change the rules again in a few months, but we’ll wait and see.

One thing about Caleigh is that she loves books. She loves to be read to before naptime and bedtime. We started reading together before eat of them about a month ago and the habit stuck. She gets four books. Either one of us can pick them. After spankings and timeouts stopped working for her last week, I got a sudden idea and thought why not? I’ll give it a try.

co

Whenever she throws a tantrum, tells me no twice in a row, or does something I told her not to…she looses one book. Simple yes, but it works. For me tantrums are not acceptable at all. First time; one book is taken away. After she tells me no the first time, I ask her “Do you want to loose a book for (naptime or nighttime)? Usually she says that she wants her books and does what ever it was she was supposed to.

Note: Start the count over after naptime or bedtime, so that they have the chance to have something read to them or for them to read by themselves. Also, if by chance your child has lost all four books before their naptime or nighttime, explain again what they did wrong. Why they lost the books.

If you decide to give it a try, let me know how it works out for you!

Leave a Reply

